Mindfulness

Teresa shares Mindfulness practices in the tradition of Zen Master, Thich Nhat Hanh.
For more information on Mindfulness, visit The Mindfulness Bell.

Why Mindfulness?

In “Happy Teachers Change the World: A Guide For Cultivating Mindfulness In Education” the authors, Thich Nhat Hanh and Katherine Weare share that “the practice of mindfulness is taught not as a tool, but as a path. Mindfulness is a way of living that we are always cultivating and deepening. Mindfulness is not a means to arrive at an end; it is not a tool to get better outcomes later – whether those outcomes are greater happiness or improved grades.”

Mindfulness practices can:

  • ground your senses and calm your nervous system
  • bring attention to your feelings and needs
  • help you be present and in connection with the world

A favorite verse (gatha) that I like to remember each day

Waking Up
Waking up this morning, I smile.
Twenty-four brand new hours are before me.
I vow to live fully in each moment
and to look at all beings with the eyes of compassion.

Here are more gathas that can help us practice mindfulness in daily life.

 Contact Teresa for a free consultation.

 

Participants experience a mindfulness practice:

“Self-care allows us to be compassionate to others. I know this but appreciated hearing it again. I will never eat a clementine or an orange in the same way.”
“Mindfulness and the clementines. Surprise (gratitude)”   ~ Participants from a Mindfulness Meditation & Cultivating Compassion” session, Columbus, OH
 “Thank you so much for sharing your gift of Mindfulness at our Collaborative Conference. You helped make it a great success.” ~ Amanda Cushing, Columbus, OH

 

 

 

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

%d bloggers like this: